This is meant to be a reading for 3-5 people to in unison. They will read the parts that are the same together in unison and any part that is different will be read separately.

Person 1:

Some say I am
worthless to
society
all because of

poverty

But the life I live is

family
loyalty

Survival in depravity
Is so familiar to me

You see
I’ve learned to

watch TV…
my escape from
reality

this is my

I   D   E   N   T   I   T   Y.

Person 2:

Some say I am
worthy to
society
all because of

money

But the life I live is

lonely
empty

Survival in popularity
Is so familiar to me

You see
I’ve learned to

watch TV…
my escape from
reality…

Money…
this is my

I   D   E   N   T   I   T   Y

Person 3:

Some say I am
trouble

a burden to
society
all because of my history

But the life I live is

lonely
empty

Survival in addiction
Is so familiar to me

You see I’ve learned
To numb the pain of my reality

To only think of me.

addict…
this is my

I   D   E   N   T   I   T   Y.

Person 4:

Some say I am
worthy to
society
all because of

My degrees.

But the life I live is

lonely
empty

Survival in stress
Is so familiar to me

You see
I’ve learned to

Work perfectly
my escape from
reality…

Success
this is my

I   D   E   N   T   I   T   Y.

Person 5:

God says I am
worthy to
be free
all because of

the Cross of Calvary

But the life I live

Not my own

Victory
Is so familiar to me

You see
I’ve learned to

turn off the TV…
to embrace the reality

CHILD OF GOD
this is my

I   D   E   N   T   I   T   Y.

One thought on “Identity: Spoken Word/Oral Interpretation Reading

Leave a Reply

