A few weeks ago, my husband and I poured out our hearts in prayer on a phone call with a dear friend who had cancer filling her body from head to toe. She was so hopeful that she would be healed and that this cancer would leave her body and that she would continue on being a wife and a mom and doing all of the wonderful things God has promised for her to do in her life. She had a heart full of dreams and things that she knew that she needed to do in her life for the Lord. We were convinced that God would heal her but we also knew that we had to trust Him in this.

I really don’t understand why she has passed away. Medically speaking, she was full of cancer. But spiritually she was so full of faith…and so were we. So were so many who I consider to be amazing prayer warriors–spiritual giants, if you will. So right at this moment, I’m shocked…I just knew in my heart at that last prayer meeting that she would be old and gray, preaching to the crowds and fulfilling all of the things God still had for her to do. She had been fully healed at one point, but then all the cancer came back with a vengeance. I don’t know why. I just don’t get it.

And in the shock and sadness and anger that is beginning to set in, I NEED now to remind myself today of the biggest lesson I’ve learned in my life thus far: when things in this world are painful, when prayers don’t get answered in the way we hope they will and when we feel disappointed by life’s circumstances, GOD is still good and deserves the highest praise even in the midst of pain, grief and disappointment! Life is sometimes very hard but God is ALWAYS very good!

Putting hope in our prayers being answered a certain way is really not true biblical faith…I define faith as putting our hope in our unseen GOD and trusting HIM for the unseen outcome–knowing He is fully able to SEE…to heal and set free or change circumstances and presenting our heart cry to Him, but choosing to love Him and praise Him & continue to live for Him no matter what happens. That is how I want to live all the days of my life.

That is how our friend lived. She prayed for healing with her whole heart. She declared it was a done deal and lived with such a joyful faith–praising God and sharing His goodness when she had cancer filling her from head to toe, when she was healed and until the day she went home to be 100% healed–with the cancer never to return again!

We pray, we believe for miracles and no matter what, we choose to live for God! There have been many cases of cancer healed in our region in the past few months, and some that have not. We pray in boldness–going straight to the throne because of Jesus, and we ask God bold things. We believe those bold requests are possible, and we trust that even when we our heart breaks in disappointment, God is still good. We don’t stop praying for the sick. We keep asking for miracles, we keep declaring His promises and truth.

The Bible is filled with stories of faith-filled believers who went through horrific trials for their faith. There are Christians across the globe today who are suffering. But the Bible is clear that even in the midst of suffering, WE WIN!

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord”. (‭Romans‬ ‭8‬:‭37-39‬ NIV)

And we know that in ALL these things, we still win! Nothing separates us from God’s love! Nothing! Not death, not divorce, not bankruptcy, not depression, not autism…NOTHING. And nothing can keep me from praising God for His goodness.

Our friend IS healed…not in the way we hoped, but for the believer, death is always an upgrade! For those left behind, we must hold on to our faith and walk out the promises of God until we breathe our last breath.

And now, we must allow room to grieve. We pray for her husband and children and do what we can to come along side and support them. We continue to put our hope in our AMAZING God…right now we do this through our tears, still praising God.

Take a look at the passage in Habakkuk…they had nothing but loss all around them, but yet he tells of how chose to praise God:

“Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights.” (Habakkuk‬ ‭3‬:‭17-19‬ NIV)

He enabled him to go to a higher place even in his lowest place. I’m doing that today–I’m lifting my eyes to focus on the joy of my Savior! And comforted knowing that my cancer-free friend is right there with Him!

Raise the praise! I’m going to the heights, folks. You can’t stop me 🙂

Peace and giggles in the midst of pain,
Ginger

Leave a Reply

